Grammar is Fun! Apparently.

by Tara M.

Stealth learning success!  This morning we had some errands to run and dentist appointments.  I had recently found some used curriculum and math manipulatives, but hadn’t said anything about it to the kids.  They were just still in the car, where we keep many, many things for days/months at a time.

I was driving along listening to an audiobook, not realizing what the kids were up to.  It’s always kind of scary how well I can tune things out when they’re happening literally two feet from me.  Anyway, the girls were wanting me to help them check the work that they had done it a grammar workbook.  And my son was busy doing multiplication facts as fast as he could with the math “Wrap-Up” things I had found.  Amazing?  Yes!  But wait, there’s more!

They were doing these things because they wanted to, not because I had begged, pleaded, bribed, and coerced.  And guess what else.  They were having fun!  In fact, at one of the stops we had to make my middle daughter said, “Mom can I please do some more of that sentence stuff when we get back to the car?  That was fun!”

On top of all that… one daughter is working on learning to read sheet music.  The youngest is still diligently perfecting her bike riding.  And my son is staying busy mowing yards to save up enough money for a 3D Printer.  His goal is to make and sell the 3D printed objects that he has been hyper-focused on designing himself.

They are growing the skills they need to become the awesome people God created them to be, and I couldn’t be happier.

p.s.  My reluctant reader decided to start reading chapter books this week!  Never read a chapter book independently before and now four within a matter of days!  Wow!

One thought on “Grammar is Fun! Apparently.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

